top of page

Lets get to know Dextress


How did you come up with the band name Dextress?

Mark: Back when I was 13 and formed the band with former lead vocalist Jackson Taylor, we were trying to figure out a name for this glam band we were dreaming of. I thought that we should think of a word that described us, and check the thesaurus for synonyms. As a joke, Jackson suggested “awkward” as it was a two member band at that point. I for some reason still checked out “awkward” in the thesaurus, and an antonym was dexterous. We thought it sounded cool, and changed up the spelling to make it even cooler.

Tell us the brief history of Dextress

Mark: Jackson and I started the band in 2011, when we were both still 13 years old. After a revolving door of musicians, we came across Eric Paulin, who was interested in joining in on bass. We always knew Eric as the frontman for the Calgary powerhouse Lucid Scream, and we were initially surprised at his interest in the low end. Shortly after, Keith Runco came across us on Kijiji, and gelled with us so well that we knew after first jam that he would be our drummer. Unfortunately, a few months later, Jackson had to step down from Dextress for personal reasons. But with Eric’s natural frontman mojo, and Keith’s brother Reece Runco’s peripatetic skills on guitar translating over to the bass, we managed to find a lineup that is still rock solid.

Mark, How does it feel being the only original member of Dextress?

Mark: It feels familiar and senior, but at the same time fresh and new. I have the familiarity with the music, brand, and vision of Dextress, but the addition of these wicked dudes makes it feel like a brand new band. They each bring so much new insight, ideas, and energy that perfectly reinforce the existing mission while adding enough new qualities to help Dextress grow and advance.

Where do you draw your inspiration from?

Mark: I draw my inspiration from my life in general. I’ll draw inspiration for lyrics and titles from my personal experiences and observations in my world. I’ll draw sonic inspiration from either whatever riffs or melodies come to me naturally, or I’ll be empowered to create after being moved by the energy of another artist.

Eric: My inspiration comes from any and everywhere. Past experience is a big one, but I also get inspired listening to music, sometimes a line of a song really jumps out at me.

Reece: I love music that makes me excited and that makes me want to move and dance. Electronic music is obviously great for this. But world music is kind of my bag, too. Every style of music from around the globe has something unique to offer.

Keith: I love music that makes my adrenaline start pumping. Stuff that makes me want to pump my fist in the air and sing at the top of my lungs while slamming my way through a mosh pit.

Where do you usually gather songwriting inspiration? What is your songwriting process?

Mark: Songwriting is a very collaborative process. It usually starts with a chorus, a few lyrics, or a riff. From there, that person brings the idea to the group, and we build off of it.

Who are your musical influences?

Mark: Eddie Van Halen has made the strongest impression on me. He’s mostly recognized for his shred abilities, but he’s so much more. He’s so melodic, tasteful, rhythmic, innovative, intelligent, and a brilliant songwriter. I also find Nuno Bettencourt to be a huge influence for his funky licks and tasteful shredding. And I can’t leave out Steve Stevens, as he constructs so many genius and catchy guitar parts himself.

Eric: Sebastian Bach, Ray Gillen, Elvis Presley, Miljenko Matijevic

Keith: As for bands, Guns N’ Roses, W.A.S.P., Slaughter, Behemoth. As for musicians, Tommy Aldridge, Zoltan Chaney, and Todd Sucherman.

Reece: Metallica, Jesse Cook, Justin Timberlake, Justin Bieber

What 3 words would you use to describe Dextress?

Eric: Raw, wild, fun.

Mark: Exhilarating, extravagant, romantic (wink wink).

Keith: Rowdy, excited, lively

Reece: So much fun!

What's your outlook on the record industry today? Keith: It's ruthless. As the profit margins aren’t what they used to be and the "record deals" (still hard to come by) are typically not so much in favour of the band but more for the label itself.

If you could get signed to any label who would it be and why?

Keith: Universal, Sony, or Warner. This is Rock N' Roll. Go big or go home.

Reece: Warner or Universal. The bigger the better for me, as long as the terms are right. For rock, go big.

Eric: Frontiers Records would be my first choice. They really push some of the newer rock bands and they also have great ties in the industry.

Mark: I would be happy to sign with Interscope in the future. Not only are they a major label, but they have been doing amazing things with modern throwback acts, such as The Struts and The 1975.

How do you feel about the internet in the music business?

Keith: It’s an amazing tool, as you are able to reach millions and millions of people.

Mark: I love it, as a fan and an artist. I’ve discovered so many amazing artists with it, and our music has gotten into the hands of many wonderful people because of it.

What do you think about downloading music online?

Keith: It is great for getting your music out there, it’s just a shame it doesn’t help the pocket book (laughs).

Mark: I agree with Keith, it does wonders for getting your name out there in the current nature of the industry. I wish kids still bought records as much as I do, but we’ve just got to adapt to the game.

If you could go on tour with any active band who would it be and why?

Keith: Guns N' F***** Roses. Because they are one of my largest influences. The opportunity to share a stage with them would be an ultimate childhood dream come true.

Mark: I would actually love to tour with Nickelback. Whatever your opinion may be on their music, they play arenas every tour to thousands of energetic and responsive fans. They also value a high production stage show just like we do, so each show would be a spectacle.

Reece: Steel Panther, because it's all about having fun and it's obvious that they know how to do that.

Eric: This is a tough one. For big bands, it would have to be Guns N’ Roses. To me they are the biggest rock band in the world, they’re still a household name and they are a band I’ve always looked up to. For newer bands, I’d love to tour with Shiraz Lane and Santa Cruz. I feel we would fit really well on a bill together. We are all young, high every bands that write kick ass music.

How do you promote your band and shows?

Keith: Dextress heavily employs social media to promote shows, but still know that word of mouth and other traditional forms of promotion go a long way. We also utilize small street teams to get the word out. What are your dreams and goals as a band?

Keith: Be able to work at music full time. Not to have another day job on top of music.

Mark: I would love to see Dextress reach the level of success that all our heroes have. KISS, Guns N’ Roses, The Rolling Stones, we want world domination. Some may say it’s not possible for a rock n’ roll band to do that again, and even if that’s true, we are going to try to get as close as we can.

What is Dextress next step? Keith: Small tours, festivals, and hitting the studio!

Describe your show, visual and musically Keith: Dextress shows are meant to be an all-out sensual assault. Visually the band is very high energy, with a full light show complete with projections, and video walls. And sonically, we pride ourselves on working with some of the top sound engineers in our respective cities to provide a clean crisp and full live sound.

What advice would you give to fellow bands?

Keith: Work hard, keep grinding.

Mark: Support each-other, don’t do drugs, respect women (laughs).

How does music affect you and the world around you? Keith: Music runs my life and influences everything I do.

Mark: Music is where I find my identity, inspiration, sanctuary, and exhilaration. Everything I am and everything I do is influenced by music.

What are the biggest obstacles for bands? Keith: Engaging the public to actually physically come out to shows and to be present. Not just be there behind a computer screen.

Mark: Absolutely agree. It’s also a struggle to get people to really give your song a listen, as it’s so easy to scroll past in this insanely competitive online market.

What's the best and worst thing about playing clubs? Keith: Best is being so close to the audience and being able to interact on a personal level. Worst is that we love to play big rooms and big stages (laughs).

Tell us why people should buy your album and see one of your shows

Mark: I will personally guarantee that the show will make you smile coast to coast. We exude so much energy and charisma, that it’s impossible not to react. The album is soaked in the over-the-top rock n’ roll spirit that has been absent from modern music, and will give you many songs to get stuck in your head.

Keith: See one of the shows, and it is guaranteed to put a smile on your face.

You can check Dextress out on Apple Music, Spotify, Youtube, Soundcloud. You can also follow them on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and subscribe to their YouTube channel. Links below.

http://www.dextressband.com

http://www.instagram.com/dextressband

http://www.facebook.com/dextressband

http://www.twitter.com/dextressband

http://www.youtube.com/dextressmusic

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page