top of page

Curse the Fall - Symbiosis EP Review

Curse the Fall - Symbiosis EP Review

Founded in late 2013, Curse the Fall has been making a name for themselves on the dusty, heat-scorched streets of the Oklahoma City metro area. They were kind enough to send a copy of their new EP, Symbiosis, which will be released on November 21, 2017. First impression when I saw the album artwork was, these guys are a metal band and they look like they’ll be pretty heavy. To my surprise they have a really great acoustic side, and they weren’t all that heavy.

The intro track, Symbiosis, is a cool opener for the EP. You don’t see too many bands do the intro and outro tracks anymore. I did feel it was a bit long and I found myself getting bored but it adds a cool dynamic to the EP. The next track on the EP, Race, really gets the head banging. I’m not a huge fan of the dirty vocals in general but it adds a lot to this track. I get a bit of a Pantera vibe from the verses and the chorus reminds me of someone but I just can’t put my finger on it. They have a very familiar sound but they do it their own way.

Dirt Road really jumped out at me. It was a perfect way to end off this amazing EP. The vocal harmonies just scream Alice in Chains, they’re haunting and really add more feel to this barebones track. Brian Carrigan really shines on this track, it’s one thing to be able to shred on an electric, but his tasteful acoustic solo is mesmerizing. I feel they could have ended the same a little different, when it ends it just kind of stops and feels incomplete.

Production on this album could have used a little bit more work, the bass tone needs a lot of work and I feel the vocals are a little loud in the mix. Over all the EP was done very well. The album art work gives you a good sense of who Curse the Fall is, they show that they are a metal band with a grungy lighter side. Great job Curse the Fall. Show these boys some support and grab a copy of this amazing EP.

Tracklist: Symbiosis (intro) Race Seasons Over Time Dirt Road Symbiont (outro)

Curse the Fall is:

Dewayne Clifton - vocals Nick Cebalo - bass Brian Carrigan - guitar Bill Stephens - drums


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page