top of page

Dextress Self-Titled Album Review

Dextress - Dextress Album Review

Dextress is a 4 piece rock band from Calgary, Alberta, Canada and they are here to remind you of the good old days of Rock n’ Roll. Dextress has put their own little modern twist on the 80’s throwback sound and its driving people crazy. I just stumbled upon these guys a couple days ago and couldn’t get some of the songs, from their new self-titled album, out of my head. They might be young but they are on the right path to remind people that Rock n’ Roll isn’t dead.

The lineup of the band had me a little confused, just about everywhere I looked I saw different line ups. One thing I know for sure is that Jackson Taylor is delivering those screaming high vocals on the album and Mark Janz is ripping the lead guitar. Jackson reminds me of a young live Vince Neil with that nasal rasp, but the delivery of Sebastian Bach. And Mark Janz, all I can say is wow. Some of the influences I hear coming across in his playing style is Eddie Van Halen, Vito Bratta and Vivian Campbell.

At first glance the album artwork isn’t too special or eye catching. I do love the bands logo; it reminds me of something you would see back in the 80s. I’m not too sure if the triangle has some sort of meaning or if it was just their way of trying to spruce it up.

This album kicks off with, what I feel is the strongest track on the album, Wild is the Night. There’s something about this song that makes me what to crack open a cold one with the boys and stir up some trouble. I could picture this song being played on an Arena Rock compilation CD right in between Kickstart my Heart and Welcome to the Jungle, it’s just that good. Can’t say I’m a huge fan of the vocal effects but it doesn’t affect how good of a song this is.

Reason or Rhyme is another top pick for me; it’s got a catchy chorus and also showcases the talent in the band. Whoever the rhythm section is on the album really shines during the guitar solo section. Speaking of guitar solo, I love the feel during this solo, kinda reminds me of a Vito Bratta solo.

Every 80’s band had their big power ballad, and I thought Dextress did a great job of writing Distance. When it first started I wasn’t a huge fan of the intro, the synth sounded really cheesy and that bass tone is really flat. But once the guitar kicks in and then the vocals, the song sounds a lot more full and complete. They did an amazing job writing a big chorus and layered some great harmonies to really fill it out. I see why they released this as a single; it shows a different side to them but still really catches the listeners ear. If only Dextress released the single version on the album. The album version is way too long and it gets really boring after 5 minutes, not to mention the song gets a little sloppy and pitchy after that point. Still an amazing song though.

The rest of the songs on the album are great but nothing special. Sex ,Drugs, Rock n Roll and Down by the River kinda changes the pace a little bit and shows that Dextress has a heavier side as well, which I would love to hear more of. Bring on the Girls, Red Eye Remedy, Oh Sweet Sister and Play Nice show a bit more of the poppier side of Dextress, not bad but I would expect a little bit more from a band that wrote some amazing songs like Wild is the Night and Distance. That only leaves one more song to talk about, Guilty Man. This song had a lot of potential, but I don’t feel they delivered. There’s something within the first 4 seconds of the song that just sounds off, and Jacksons vocal delivery is a little of time throughout the song which really bothers me. I would absolutely love for Dextress to re-release Guilty Man once they have some of the kinks worked out.

At first I thought the production on the album was pretty good for a smaller independent rock band, and then I saw it was recorded and produced by Glen Robinson. Apparently like most of the bigger named engineers and producers, Glen has lost his touch. I’m a little confused why some solos have rhythm guitar under them and others don’t the ones that don’t sound so empty. And some of the vocal melodies and vocal harmonies are quite a bit sloppy; Bring on the Girls and Red Eye Remedy come to mind. I feel he could have spent a little more time working with the band on perfecting tones, particularly the bass guitar.

Overall, the album is great. You can throw it on at a party and it will get everyone moving, or at least bobbing their heads and tapping their toes. Dextress is a very talented young band that just needs to keep on moving in the right direction. If they keep up the good work they might just be the next Van Halen or Def Leppard.

Track listing:

01. Wild Is The Night 02. Sex, Drugs, Rock N’ Roll 03. Bring On The Girls 04. Reason Or Rhyme 05. Red Eye Remedy 06. Down By The River 07. Oh Sweet Sister 08. Play Nice 09. Guilty Man 10. Distance

Dextress is:

Eric Paulin - Vocals

Mark Janz - Guitar/ Backing Vocals

Reece Runco - Bass/ Backing Vocals

Keith Runco - Drums/ Backing Vocals

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page